Dr. Anne Biringer
Toronto, ON - 2023

“Sharing with learners the joy of caring for multi-generational families from cradle to grave and even becoming a ‘grand-doctor’ several times over has immeasurably enriched my life.”

Dr. Anne Biringer has practised comprehensive family medicine, including full-scope perinatal care at Mt. Sinai Hospital, Toronto, since 1982. As an associate professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Toronto, she has also inspired and mentored hundreds of family medicine residents to consider providing perinatal care as part of their practice. For this, she has received numerous teaching awards at the hospital and university level. Dr. Biringer has held leadership positions on national and provincial committees, representing family medicine and its role in perinatal care.

Dr. Biringer has taught the ALARM (Advances in Labour and Risk Management) International program to health care providers in under resourced settings worldwide—building capacity in safe birth practices. She received the Yves Talbot Award for Excellence in Global Health Leadership in 2021 as a result of her ongoing work with the Toronto Addis Ababa Academic Collaboration.

Her research interests include a wide range of topics—obstetrics, clinical, and educational. In 2022 she and two colleagues edited and published Teaching Perinatal Care: A Practical Guide. This multi-authored book focuses on strategies for teaching perinatal care, inspired by the biennial National Forum on Teaching Competence in Family Medicine Maternity Care that Dr. Biringer started in 2014.Dr. Biringer, a champion of family medicine based care for pregnant patients and their babies, has carried the torch in family medicine education. Her remarkable career has allowed her to participate in the most pivotal moments in a patient’s life.


W. Victor Johnston Award

This award honours the late Dr. W. Victor Johnston, the CFPC’s first Executive Director (1954–1964), and recognizes renowned Canadian or international family physicians who have made an outstanding leadership contribution to family medicine in Canada or abroad.