Dr. Ean Parsons
St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador

Image of 2019 Family Physician of the Year Dr. Ean ParsonsBorn to physician parents, Dr. Ean Parsons grew up hearing how satisfying it was to practise in rural, remote Newfoundland. Completing rotations with amazing family medicine role models in the communities of Twillingate and Brookfield reinforced his decision to choose family medicine as his specialty.

As an associate professor in the Discipline of Family Medicine at Memorial University of Newfoundland, Dr. Parsons’ teaching responsibilities include undergraduate anatomy and sports medicine. He covers a broad scope of practice in family medicine and offers sports medicine clinics at the Veterans Pavilion and the Miller Centre in St. John’s. With a Certificate of Added Competence in Sport and Exercise Medicine, he works with local athletes and served as a team physician for Canada at the 2004, 2012, and 2016 Paralympic Games.

Medical learners hold Dr. Parsons in high regard. Commended for his enthusiasm and passion for family medicine, he has received Memorial University’s Gus Rowe Teaching Award—which recognizes excellence in family medicine education—several times. Dr. Parsons has also made contributions to academic family medicine at the national level through the CFPC. Of particular note are his contributions to ushering in competency-based medical education through his work on the Triple C curriculum. He is also a member of the CFPC’s Sport and Exercise Medicine Committee.

Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year –
The Reg L. Perkin Award

Since 1972, the CFPC and the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, 10 family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.