Dr. Stephanie Buchanan
Whitehorse, YT

With a passion for family medicine, Dr. Stephanie Buchanan has served communities with unmatched dedication for more than two decades. Dr. Buchanan’s extensive roles as a family physician have encompassed office practice, obstetrics, and in-patient care.

Dr. Buchanan earned a bachelor of science from Simon Fraser University, her MD from the University of British Columbia, and completed her family medicine residency at the University of Calgary.

Her commitment to health care is evident in Whitehorse, Yukon, where she has practised since 2003, and through her contributions to emergency medicine, which she practised until 2020. Dr. Buchanan has served as a locum physician in other locations such as Dawson City and Calgary. She also co-founded the Yukon Sexual Health Clinic.

Dr. Buchanan’s drive for continuous learning and her commitment to health care is evident in her multi-faceted roles. Today, her work speaks of her commitment to and excellence in medicine in Yukon.


Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year –
The Reg L. Perkin Award

Since 1972, the CFPC and the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, 10 family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.