Johanne Théorêt, MD, CCMF, FCMF

Johanne TheoretKnown for her compassion for and devotion to her patients, as well as to her medical students and residents, Dr. Johanne Théorêt has been a family physician at Unité de médecine familiale Haute-Ville in Québec, Quebec, for nearly 30 years.

After earning her medical degree from the University of Montreal, Dr. Théorêt completed her family medicine residency at Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement. She continues to dedicate a portion of her time to the hospital’s end-of-life care unit.

Dr. Théorêt holds a master’s degree in science education and is responsible for the academic program with Laval University’s Department of Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine. She has served as Director of Faculty Development for 15 years and chair of the family medicine program’s Promotion Committee for over 10 years. She is a member of numerous academic committees and teacher and student support committees. She also teaches a three-credit postgraduate course on practical supervision. Dr. Théorêt divides her time between the university and her practice with a focus on preventing chronic illnesses, which she considers the foundation of her practice.

Dr. Théorêt greatly appreciates the rich relationship between physicians and their patients, the motivation that she gets from her residents’ thirst for knowledge, and the variety of activities associated with practising medicine and teaching in an academic setting. She chose family medicine because it combines all her areas of interest, while allowing her to treat many different types of illness and interact with a variety of patients. For Dr. Théorêt, being a family physician means acting as a health care resource person among a network of individuals and their loved ones—it is a privilege. She is also very happy to practise in Québec, which, in her eyes, is the most beautiful city in the world.


Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year –
The Reg L. Perkin Award

Since 1972, the CFPC and the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, 10 family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.