Jennifer Kuzmicz, MD, CCFP, FCFP

Jennifer KuzmiczColleagues say that Dr. Jennifer Kuzmicz exemplifies all the characteristics of a truly gifted family physician and is a key player in family medicine in Regina, Saskatchewan, as both a clinician and an educational leader. She not only provides outstanding ongoing care to her patients, but also endeavours to set an example of excellence for future generations of family medicine residents.

Practising in Regina for the past 16 years, Dr. Kuzmicz maintains a busy comprehensive practice for approximately 750 active patients, including in-patient and outpatient care, obstetrical services, and nursing home care. She balances this with her roles as Residency Training Coordinator and as an assistant professor with the University of Saskatchewan’s family medicine program. She has played an integral role in the development of the mental health curriculum for postgraduate family medicine trainees and has provided faculty development for colleagues in this area at several conferences throughout Saskatchewan. Additionally, in her administrative role as Faculty Development Coordinator, she championed the facilitation of clinical medicine learning through the Five-Step Method for Teaching Clinical Skills—a program designed to provide clinician teachers with the skills needed to teach and mentor residents while maintaining excellent patient care.

Dr. Kuzmicz is passionate about her patients taking ownership of their own health, in which her role is to support, guide, suggest, and assist. She feels incredibly lucky to have such an amazing occupation, considers herself privileged to serve her patients every day, and is honoured to help train the family physicians of tomorrow.


Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year –
The Reg L. Perkin Award

Since 1972, the CFPC and the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, 10 family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.