Dr. Christine Buchel
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Image of 2021 Family Physician of the Year Dr. Christine Buchel

“Family medicine has allowed me to learn from individuals and communities who experience systemic barriers within the health care system. This has afforded me the opportunity to support my patients in real and meaningful ways.”

What Dr. Christine Buchel values most as a family physician is the opportunity to build relationships with her patients and the community.

For the past decade Dr. Buchel has provided primary care to Indigenous people living in urban Winnipeg. As a family physician with the Aboriginal Health and Wellness Centre, she is able to work alongside Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers to provide holistic care for her patients.

Dr. Buchel’s interest in Indigenous health started early in her career. During her first two years of practice she worked as a locum physician in rural and northern communities in British Columbia, Manitoba, and Nunavut.

Since 2015 Dr. Buchel has also been part of a multidisciplinary team at the Trans Health Klinic, where she provides gender-affirming health care to transgender and gender-diverse individuals in Manitoba. In this role she works with family medicine residents and other family physicians to increase the province’s capacity to deliver gender-affirming care in the primary care setting.

Dr. Buchel received her medical degree from the University of Manitoba in 1997 and
completed her residency training in family medicine at the University of British Columbia in 1999. In her personal time Dr. Buchel loves being with her family and spending time outdoors. She especially enjoys running on the beautiful river trails in Winnipeg.


Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year –
The Reg L. Perkin Award

Since 1972, the CFPC and the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, 10 family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.