Dr Roger Butler
St. John’s, NL

ButlerDr Roger Butler is the 2013 recipient of the Family Physician of the Year Award for Newfoundland and Labrador. This award recognizes outstanding CFPC family physician members—one in each province—who exemplify the best of what being a family physician is all about.

After completing his medical degree and family medicine residency at Memorial University (MUN) in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Dr Butler began his practice in that province in 1980. He also received his Certification in Family Medicine in 1980, and became a Fellow of the College in 1994. He was appointed Assistant Professor of Family Medicine at Memorial University in 1985, and Associate Professor in 1991.

Dr Butler served as a member of the CFPC’s Care of the Elderly Committee from 1999 to 2002, and again in 2009. He was chair of the Family Medicine Postgraduate Program Audit Committee at MUN from 1996 to 2012.

In 2007, Dr Butler received the Award of Excellence from the Newfoundland and Labrador College of Family Physicians for his work with the Alzheimer Society. In 2009, through the MUN Family Medicine Residency Teaching program, he was awarded the Gus Rowe Teaching Award.

With a high level of expertise in geriatrics, Dr Butler is often consulted for his professional input on dementia, Alzheimer disease, elder abuse, and seniors’ care. He has presented on these topics extensively within Canada and abroad, and is currently involved in a number of related research projects.


Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year – the Reg L. Perkin Awards

Since 1972, the CFPC and its Research & Education Foundation have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, ten family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.