Dr Mark Duerksen
Steinbach, MB

MN-Duerksen_2013-FPOYDr Mark Duerksen is the 2013 recipient of the Family Physician of the Year Award for Manitoba. This award recognizes outstanding CFPC family physician members—one in each province—who exemplify the best of what being a family physician is all about.

After graduating with a medical degree from the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg in 1988, Dr Duerksen received Certification in Family Medicine in 1990 and became a Fellow of the CFPC in 2004.

Dr Duerksen has been an active proponent of electronic medical records (EMRs) throughout his career. He serves as a leader in the Manitoba Peer-to-Peer Network, which assists physicians in their transition to EMRs. He has led the Manitoba Physician Integrated Network since its inception in 2006, and is on the steering committee that is implementing the first Primary Care Network in Manitoba. A preceptor to medical students and family medicine residents through the University of Manitoba, Dr Duerksen was involved in the creation of a clinical teaching unit in Steinbach, Manitoba. Dr Duerksen has been practising family medicine at Steinbach Family Medical since 1990, where he currently serves as President and is an active member of the staff. He also continues to provide exemplary care to patients at Bethesda Hospital. A vocal proponent for continuing medical education, Dr Duerksen has been serving as a question writer for the CFPC’s Self Learning® program since 1994.


Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year – the Reg L. Perkin Awards

Since 1972, the CFPC and its Research & Education Foundation have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year (FPOY) Award each year. Since 2002, ten family physicians have been recognized annually—one representing each CFPC Chapter.

Canada’s FPOYs are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

FPOY recipients must exemplify the four principles of family medicine:

  • Be skilled clinicians
  • Be community based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor-patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the FPOY for their respective provinces. The provincial FPOYs are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOYs are honoured at the annual CFPC Family Medicine Forum.